The President calls and presides at meetings of the Society, the Board, and the Executive Committee, and appoints chairs and members of Society advisory committees, subject to Board approval.

Craig Baehr is an STC Fellow and Professor of Technical Communication at Texas Tech University. He has served STC as Chief Examiner of the Certified Professional Technical Communicator Program, Chair of the Certification Committee, Chair of the TCBOK Committee, Program Director of the Academic SIG, and as Faculty Advisor for the Texas Tech University Student Chapter. Dr. Baehr is author of three books, Web Development: A Visual-Spatial Approach, Writing for the Internet: A Guide to Real Communication in Virtual Space, and The Agile Communicator: Principles and Practices in Technical Communication. Previously, he worked in industry as a technical writer, editor, Web developer, and program director for ten years for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.