Distinguished Community Service Awards

The Distinguished Community Service Awards recognize the hard work and commitment of STC’s community leaders. The three awards-Distinguished Chapter Service Award, Distinguished SIG Service Award, and Distinguished Service Award for Students-recognize an individual’s exemplary effort, energy, and dedication to their community and its activities. This is the highest level of recognition that a member can receive for service to their community. The Distinguished Community Service Awards are administered by the Distinguished Community Service Award Committee.

Nomination Process

Consult the guidelines for the complete nomination process.


  • Any STC community member
  • Members with student membership status during the entire period for which the award is given (DSAS only)

With the following exceptions:

Ineligible Members

  • Chapter President
  • Chapter Vice President
  • SIG Managers/Co-managers
  • Members who have already received the DCSA from that chapter
  • Members who have already received the DSSA from that SIG
  • Members who are on the STC Board of Directors


The professional chapter, SIG, or student chapter executive council.

Due date:  October 30th, 2021

2021 Honorees (DCSA) Distinguished Chapter Service Award


Phoebe Forio: In recognition of your exemplary efforts to revitalize the STC Atlanta chapter; for outstanding service as President and Vice-President; and for your continued contributions to chapter activities.


Cathy Sprankle: For the variety of ways that you volunteer your expertise and for your sustained commitment to preserving the important financial records of the Carolina chapter.


Rajib Borkataki: To recognize your exemplary efforts to revitalize the India chapter, continued contributions to chapter activities, and for your wisdom, experience, and sound advice that sustain and advance the chapter.

Michigan Great Lakes

Alison Phillips: For your exceptional contributions to the Southeastern Michigan chapter; leadership in establishing the Michigan Great Lakes chapter; and for continuously exemplifying professionalism, kindness, and concern for all members.

New England

Steve Jong: For your extensive, distinguished service to the New England chapter in a wide range of leadership roles, and proud representation of the chapter through your many contributions to STC.

North Texas Lone Star

Bob Want: For serving the North Texas Lone Star chapter in various leadership positions; consistent dedication, extensive mentoring; growing the chapter's legacy of excellence; and exemplary devotion to the technical communication profession.

Philadelphia Metro

Danielle Villegas: In recognition of your exemplary efforts to revitalize the Philadelphia Metro chapter, and for your continuing contributions to chapter activities.


Christine Christensen: For sustained contributions and service to the Rochester chapter in many roles, and for exhibiting enthusiasm, team spirit, focus, and a commitment to quality.

San Francisco Bay

Gale Naylor: For outstanding leadership of the East Bay chapter, contributions to modernizing the website, and for continued wholehearted support in sustaining our infrastructure.

2021 Honorees (DSSA) Distinguished SIG Service Award

Instructional Design & Learning SIG COP

Lori Meyer: For your dedication to the Instructional Design and Learning SIG, your unfailing commitment to leadership, and for displaying compassion and wisdom in calm and troubled circumstances.

Technical Editing SIG COP

Yoel Strimling: For developing the Technical Editing SIG's Corrigo Journal and for elevating its credibility and prestige through your excellence as an editor, by providing relevant, high-quality information to the community.

2021 Honorees (DSAS) Distinguished Service Award for Students

Washington DC – Baltimore

Tavia Record: For leadership in establishing the All-Stars in TechComm Webinar Speaker Series, managing our TechComm Competition, and inspiring everyone with innovative ideas and dedication.