May/June 2023 Society Pages

STC Honors and Award Recipients

STC recognizes excellence in technical communication and outstanding service to the Society with its honors, awards, and competitions programs.

  • Individuals are honored for their contributions to the profession via speaking, teaching, mentoring, writing, and research, as well as their service and dedication to the Society and their communities.
  • Communities are recognized for their contributions to the Society’s goal of providing high-quality programming, resources, and networking opportunities for technical communicators all over the world.

Honors, awards, and recognitions are given at the Honors Event at the annual STC Summit, along with at the Leadership Program.

Honors and Awards
Lifetime Achievement
Award for Excellence
in Service
President’s Award
Honorary Fellow

Jackie Damrau

Nicky Bleiel

Jane Wilson

Andrew Lawless


Alyssa Fox

Elizabeth Fraley

Elizabeth Herman

Tharon Howard

Kim Rosenlof

Tricia Spayer

Associate Fellows

Lisa Adair

James Bousquet

Alex Garcia

Linda Kelley

Christina Mayr

Roger Renteria

Sean Stevenson

Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in
Teaching Technical Communication
Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research

Lee-Ann Breuch, University of Minnesota

Miriam Williams, Texas State University

Intercom Outstanding Magazine Article
Intercom Outstanding Guest-Edited Issue

Jack Molisani

Jackie Damrau and Elizabeth Herman
Frank R. Smith Award
for Outstanding
Journal Article
Frank R. Smith Award for Distinguished Journal Article

Nora K. Rivera

Daniel Hocutt, Nupoor Ranade, and Gustav Verhulsdonck

Sigma Tau Chi

Rachel Dick, Michigan Technological University

Community Achievement Awards
Community of the Year Award

Chicago Chapter

Most Improved Community Award

North Texas Lone Star Chapter
Ohio Chapter

Platinum Communities

Carolina Chapter
Chicago Chapter
Instructional Design & Learning SIG
Michigan Great Lakes Chapter
North Texas Lone Star Chapter
Washington DC – Baltimore Chapter

Gold Communities

Ohio Chapter

Bronze Communities

Rochester Chapter
South Central Texas Chapter
Technical Editing SIG


Carolina Chapter
Chicago Chapter
Instructional Design & Learning SIG
North Texas Lone Star Chapter
Policies & Procedures SIG
Technical Editing SIG
Washington DC – Baltimore Chapter

Distinguished Chapter Service Award

Michigan Great Lakes Chapter—Katherine Baeckeroot
North Texas Lone Star Chapter—Zohra Mutabanna
Ohio Chapter—Kelly Webb Bronstrup
Twin Cities Chapter—Laura Harding
Washington DC – Baltimore Chapter—Tavia Record