Jay R. Gould Award

The Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication honors the distinguished teaching career of professor Gould.

Professor Gould’s academic mentorship of technical communication students guided many men and women into the profession. The Jay R. Gould Award for excellence in teaching technical communication honors his distinguished teaching career, which is an outstanding example of the long-term commitment, innovation, and excellence in teaching.

This award honors true academic mentorship; a record of successful students, defined as those who are involved in STC, and actively working in the profession; involvement in student activities outside of the classroom; innovation and creativity in teaching, and involvement in research that leads to changes in the way technical communication is taught.

2018 Honorees

Craig Baehr, Texas Tech University

Citation: For his impact on the field of technical communication through exemplary teaching and mentoring of students. With dedication, he has used his own successes in teaching, scholarship, and service to guide students in building toward their own successes.



Nomination process

Please consult the guidelines for the complete nomination process.

Who is eligible: STC Members who have belonged to the Society for eight years or more, involved in post-secondary education for at least fifteen years, and whose primary career is teaching the philosophy and theory of technical communication as a distinct discipline.

Who may nominate: Department chairs, Deans, colleagues,  students, and other STC members acquainted with the nominee.

Due date for nominations:  12 November 2018

Due date for applications by nominated candidates:  17 December 2018

Honorees notified: After vote by STC Board of Directors, usually January

Award Presented: At the Honors Event at the STC Technical Communication Summit 

The Jay R. Gould Guidelines

The previous Jay R. Gould Winners

Recommendations should be sent via email to:

Russel Hirst, Jay R. Gould Award Committee chair

Elaine Gilliam, STC staff liaison