We return again with the second edition of Recognition Thursday, recognizing our great members and communities for what they’ve done throughout the past year and, in some cases, their entire careers. Last week we highlighted the new class of Fellows and Associate Fellows. Today we focus on the Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research. The Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research was established by STC in 2006 to celebrate and honor Professor Ken Rainey’s passion for research that results in improvements to technical communication, especially to practice. The award honors research that has made positive, significant contributions to technical communication practice and teaching. It rewards a lifetime of quality research in the field, a single high-quality empirical study, or a set of related high-quality studies. The committee for this year’s award is George Hayhoe, Maryann Bowen, Barbara Giammona Judy Ramey, and Stephanie Rosenbaum. This year’s honorees are Ann Blakeslee and Menno de Jong. The citations read: Ann Blakeslee For her leading-edge research on issues of audience, her exploration of connections between academia and industry, her contributions to training new generations of researchers in qualitative methods, and the clarity and power of her arguments for applying theory to practice. Menno de Jong For his pioneering use of methods for formative analysis of audience response to public documents, his contribution to the training of a large number of scholars, and the significant impact of his work in expanding our understanding of best practice in the field. Congratulations to Ann and Menno for this well-deserved honor.

Consider reading these posts.

Introducing the Frank R. Smith Award winners
Introducing the 2020 Jay R. Gould Award Winners
Call for Nominations for the Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication

Leave a Reply