• The official voice of STC and the tech comm community

Recognition Thursday: Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication

150 150 James Cameron

We return again with another edition of Recognition Thursday, recognizing our great members and communities for what they’ve done throughout the past year and, in some cases, their entire careers. In past weeks we highlighted the new class of Fellows and Associate Fellows and the Ken Rainey Award. Today we focus on the Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication.

The Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication honors the distinguished teaching career of the late Professor Gould, whose academic mentorship guided many into the technical communication profession. To be eligible for the award, a nominee must have been a member of the Society for Technical Communication for at least ten years and must have been involved in postsecondary education for at least fifteen years. The committee this year includes Thomas Barker, Maury Maryanow, and Sonya Borton.

This year’s honorees are:

Dr. George Hayhoe
Dr. Paul Anderson

Committee chair Thomas Barker stated, “The Jay R. Gould Award winners this year have made significant contributions to the field of technical communication through research mentoring and reader-centered writing. Dr. Hayhoe’s contributions to research and mentoring have resulted in a generation of skilled researchers and writers who understand the value of knowledge in our profession. Dr. Anderson’s principles of reader-centered writing have embodied the most important theoretical advancements in the history of our profession and brought them to the awareness of countless students. Both figures richly deserve the highest teaching accolade of our profession, and we look forward to bestowing the award at the STC Summit in Rosemont, Illinois, this coming May.”

Congratulations to George and Paul for their honor.