Call for Entries for the 2014 International Summit Awards

Guest post by Elizabeth Bailey, International Summit Awards Committee Entries Manager

The Society for Technical Communication’s International Summit Awards (ISA) competition is accepting chapter or regional entries through 31 January 2014. To qualify, the entry must have been produced or substantially revised within 24 months prior to 1 September 2013 and won an Award of Excellence or Distinguished Technical Communication Award at a local or regional STC competition in 2013–14. All STC ISA entries must be submitted using the online submission form.

We continue to use the same four categories of entries:

  • Informational Materials
  • Instructional Materials
  • Promotional Materials
  • User Support Materials

Information on these categories and rules for all entries can be viewed here.

For information specific to submitting electronic entries, see STC ISA General Information and Rules.

If you are submitting paper-based entries, once you have completed the online submission form, send entries that qualify for the STC ISA Competition to:

STC International Summit Awards
c/o Elizabeth Bailey
3101 Gaylord Pkwy
Frisco, TX 75034
(469) 365-7346

Each physical submission must include:

  • Four copies of each entry
  • Completed online entry submission form for each entry (with a printed copy of the completed entry submission form attached to each of the four copies)
  • Payment: Check(s) made payable to STC or online credit card payment. Nonrefundable fee per entry in US dollars only:
    • $75 members
    • $125 nonmembers
    • Add $15 per hard copy entry submission. Posters larger than 11×17″ are exempt from the hard copy fee. STC encourages entries to be uploaded electronically using the online entry form to avoid the $15 fee.

When paying by check, please mail a printed copy of the online entry submission form with the check to:

Lloyd Tucker
Society for Technical Communication
9401 Lee Highway, Suite 300
Fairfax, VA 22031

We continue to accept judge applications through 14 January 2014.  For more information about judge requirements, please download the STC ISA Handbook for Judges.

Entries that win a Distinguished Technical Communication Award at the international level will be displayed at the STC Summit in May. The Best of Show winner will be recognized at the honors banquet at the STC Summit. All entries will receive written critiques from qualified technical communicators regardless of award level. Entrants say that written critiques are the most beneficial part of submitting an entry.

For more information, please see the International Summit Awards page on or contact Entries Manager Elizabeth Bailey.