The stars came out a little early Tuesday evening in Washington. D.C., as STC held its Honors Reception to shine a light on the best and brightest in our profession and in our community. Fellows and Associate Fellows shared the limelight with honorees for the Jay R. Gould Award and Ken Rainey Award. Publishing excellence came forward with the Frank R. Smith honorees as well as the Intercom awards for both article and guest-edited issue. And student honorees and winners of the International Summit Awards walked the metaphorical red carpet. In the two “secret” awards of the evening, the San Diego Chapter was presented with the Most Improved Community Award, while the Chicago Chapter received the prestigious Community of the Year Award. (Other community awards, such as Community Achievement Awards and the Pacesetter Awards, were presented earlier in the Summit.) Now-Immediate Past President Adriane Hunt wrote in the Honors Brochure, “We are gathered here today to honor and celebrate the achievements of some remarkable people in the technical communication profession and to thank them for their dedication and service to our community.” Congratulations to each and every honored person and community, and a special thanks to the committee members who played a huge part in bringing us to tonight’s festivities. After the reception the world’s greatest band made up of STC members, The Rough Drafts, took the stage and rocked out for the night with guest singers (including Phylise Banner and STC staffer Deborah Krat) joining them to share their talents.

Consider reading these posts.

Introducing the Frank R. Smith Award winners
Introducing the 2020 Jay R. Gould Award Winners
Reminder: 2020 Summit Call for Proposals Closes 30 September

Leave a Reply