Introducing the 2019 Class of STC Fellows and Associate Fellows

STC is pleased to announce that 10 distinguished members have been named Fellows and Associate Fellows of the Society for Technical Communication. They will be recognized at the 2019 STC Technical Communication Summit & Expo in Denver, Colorado.

STC awards the rank of Associate Fellow to Senior Members who have attained distinction in the field of technical communication.

The rank of STC Fellow is conferred upon Associate Fellows who have attained such eminence in the field of technical communication that the Board deems them worthy of being singled out as one of the select few who have distinguished the Society and the profession. To view the newest requirements for Fellow and Associate Fellow, click here.

Congratulations to all the honorees, listed below with the preliminary citation. And thank you to both the Fellows Committee (Kit Brown-Hoektra, DJ Cline, Chris Hester, Leah Guren, and Kirk St.Amant) and the Associate Fellows Committee (Aiessa Moyna, Stephen Adler, Craig Baehr, Rachel Houghton, Heather Sommerville).

Associate Fellows

Mary Jo David
For her many contributions to the technical communication profession and for innovative, positive, and distinguished leadership and service to the Society and its communities.

Viqui Dill
For skillfully combining technical, communication, and social media skills with passionate leadership that illuminates the strengths of others and gives everyone a voice.

Dr. Tharon Howard
For a lifetime of continued dedication to technical communication as an ongoing learner and professor, and for his advocacy for users and user-centered design.

Lynn Nickels
For consistent contributions to the Northeast Ohio Chapter (NEO STC), unwavering loyalty to the Society and its members, and promoting the technical communication profession through teaching and writing.

Scott Prentice
For contributing to new technical publishing standards, sharing knowledge with the international community, and leading professional organizations that provide education and networking opportunities for technical communication professionals.

Matt R. Sullivan
For spirited instruction of thousands of communicators in various software applications and concepts, and for helping organizations evaluate their content to provide a better user experience through the use of rich media and responsive output.

Marilyn Woelk
For promotion of the technical communication profession through successful, innovative, and award-winning projects on behalf of her clients, and for contributions as a tireless Society leader.


Ramesh Aiyyangar
For his passion for and dedication to building awareness of the technical communication profession and elevating the value of technical communication, STC India, and the Society.

Nicky Bleiel
For her unfailing ability to recognize technology trends and her outstanding promotion of the profession, including advocacy within her organization and outreach to the greater world.

Timothy Esposito
For his leadership through mentoring and his ability to combine the technical with the human to build bridges and bring people together.

Leave a Reply