The Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication honors the distinguished teaching career of professor Gould. Professor Gould’s academic mentorship of technical communication students guided many men and women into the profession. The Jay R. Gould Award for excellence in teaching technical communication honors his distinguished teaching career, which is an outstanding example of the long-term commitment, innovation, and excellence in teaching. This award honors true academic mentorship; a record of successful students, defined as those who are involved in STC, and actively working in the profession; involvement in student activities outside of the classroom; innovation and creativity in teaching, and involvement in research that leads to changes in the way technical communication is taught.

Who is eligible: STC Members who have belonged to the Society for eight years or more, been involved in post-secondary education for at least fifteen years, and whose primary career is teaching the philosophy and theory of technical communication as a distinct discipline. Award Description:

Who may nominate: department chairs, deans, colleagues, students, and other STC members acquainted with the nominee.

Nomination process: please send your nominations to: Sally Henschel, Jay R. Gould Award Committee chair:

  • Due date for nominations:  15 November 2019
  • Due date for applications by nominated candidates:  17 December 2019
  • Honorees notified: After vote by STC Board of Directors, February 2020
  • Award Presented: At the Honors Event at the STC Technical Communication Summit 

Previous Jay R. Gould Winners:

Questions: Please contact Sally:


Consider reading these posts.

online education offerings
Education Offerings for March
Introducing the Frank R. Smith Award winners
Introducing the 2020 Jay R. Gould Award Winners

Leave a Reply