The Society for Technical Communication is proud to announce the 2020 class of Associate Fellows. Associate Fellow is one of the three honorary ranks in the Society. It is the second highest rank that the Society can confer upon a member, Fellow being the highest. This honor recognizes members for their outstanding achievements in and contributions to the arts and science of technical communication, and for sustained and significant service to STC.

Associate Fellows retain this honorary rank for life, unless they are elevated to the rank of Fellow.

To be considered for Associate Fellow, a candidate must have:
  • Been active in technical communication for at least 15 years
  • Fulfilled ten years of service as an STC Member (with at least five years at the level of Senior Member), as of the application submission deadline.

The Society will formally recognize the new Associate Fellows at the Technical Communication Summit Conference & Expo in Bellevue, WA, at the Honors Event on Sunday, 17 May, from 5:30-7:00 p.m.

Congratulations to our newest Associate Fellows:

Alyssa Fox
For service to the Society in a variety of roles, including STC President and Secretary, and for the advancement of professional development in content strategy, customer experience, and managing global teams.

Elizabeth Fraley
For sharing her technical knowledge, encouraging others to expand their skills, and working to build connections in the technical communication community.

Elizabeth Herman
For championing technical communicators through teaching, mentoring, and advocacy, while demonstrating the value of the technical communicator in project management and leadership roles.

Miles Kimball
For expanding the scope of technical communication through scholarship, for contributing to the education and professional development of technical communicators, and for service to the Society and its members.

Karen Levine
For service to the Society as a volunteer, mentor, and community leader, and for consistent support of technical communication practitioners throughout her career and Society service.

Ed Marsh
For promotion of the profession and practitioners of technical communication through social media and other channels, and for service to the Society.

Michael Opsteegh
For contributions to the Society as a leader and volunteer, and for his commitment to educating the next generation of technical communicators.

Carmel Priore-Garlock
For career successes spanning academia and industry, for service to numerous community organizations, and for sustained leadership and support of STC’s Rochester Chapter and the Spectrum conference.

Jamye Sagan
For sharing knowledge of technical communication and instructional design through creative extracurricular interests, and for continuous and varied service as a Society volunteer.

Consider reading these posts.

Summit news
Announcing STC’s 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Service Awardee
Summit news
Presenting the 2022 STC classes of Fellow and Associate Fellow
Summit news
Let the Summit App Be Your Guide

Leave a Reply