Who is eligible:  A nominee must be a regular member of the Society for Technical Communication at the time of application. Nominees must have been involved in post-secondary education for at least fifteen years and have made a primary career in teaching the philosophy and theory of technical communication as a distinct discipline.

Award description and guidelines: https://www.stc.org/jay-r-gould-award-excellence-teaching/

Who may nominate: Department chairs, deans, colleagues, students, and other STC members acquainted with the nominee. STC members may self-nominate as well.

Nomination process: To nominate someone (or yourself), simply send the full name, email address, and phone number of the nominee to the 2022 Jay R. Gould Award Committee chair, Bruce Maylath (bruce.maylath@ndsu.edu), and CC the STC staff liaison, Elaine Gilliam (elaine.gilliam@stc.org ).


  • Due date for nominations:  15 November 2021
  • Due date for applications by nominated candidates:  17 December 2021
  • Honorees notified: Early February 2022
  • Award Presented: At the Honors Event at the STC Technical Communication Summit

Previous Jay R. Gould Winners: https://www.stc.org/honors-awards-and-recognition/jay-r-gould-award-excellence-teaching/jay-r-gould-award-previous-winners/


Questions: Please contact Bruce Maylath at bruce.maylath@ndsu.edu


Consider reading these posts.

Recipient of the 2022 Ken Rainey Award for Distinguished Research
#TechCommWeek: Complimentary Access to the Jan/Feb 2022 Intercom Issue: “Maximize Your Career Potential”
STC Preliminary Slate of Candidates for 2022 STC Election

Leave a Reply