Announcing the Jay R. Gould Award Recipients

The Jay R. Gould Award for Excellence in Teaching Technical Communication honors the distinguished teaching career of Professor Gould, whose academic mentorship of technical communication students guided many men and women into the profession. The award was initiated to acknowledge the importance of academic programs to the science and practice of technical communication, and to encourage excellence in the academic community by honoring those who have made an outstanding contribution to teaching the body of knowledge in this area. Innovative and creative teacher-scholars, the recipients of this award have a record of successful students and a pattern of acting as a mentor, which is exemplified by being inspirational and involved in student activities outside the classroom. In addition, their research has contributed to changes in the way technical communication is taught. There are two recipients for the 2022 award.

Kim Sydow Campbell, University of North Texas: For a distinguished career as a partner with industry and as a role model and mentor to students who have gone on to distinguish themselves as leaders in careers of their own.

Huatong Sun, University of Washington Tacoma: For creating highly innovative and inclusive teaching/learning programs in which she has inspired students from cultures and languages across the globe.

Thank you to the Jay R. Gould Award Recognition Committee—Bruce Maylath (Chair), Ann Hill Duin, and Stuart Selber—for their work on this.

Leave a Reply