STC Lifetime Achievement Award Nominations Now Open!

Nominations are due by 10 April 2023.

The Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Service recognizes meritorious service to the Society for Technical Communication. This award encompasses a lifetime of service to the Society that spans multiple accomplishments, levels, and long-lasting impacts. This award is based primarily on service to the Society, through significant and sustained acts and initiatives, which support the growth of technical communication with long-lasting benefits to both the Society and the profession.

Full details can be found at the Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Service Committee page.

Nominees for the award must have at least 15 years of membership (and be current members) of the Society. They should have contributed significantly to the Society over the lifetime of their membership in each of the following areas:

  • Leadership. Served in multiple senior leadership roles at different Society levels (chapter, SIG, committee, Board), and/or created, developed, or implemented a significant sustained program or initiative for the Society.
  • Education. Given multiple webinars, short courses, conference presentations that help the education and development of Society members.
  • Mentorship. Participated in significant mentorship or volunteer activities, which benefit new professionals and/or students.
  • Publications. Written and published articles on technical communication topics in a range of STC publications, which benefits other technical communicators.

Individuals can self-nominate or be nominated by a current STC member in good standing. Current members of the committee may not nominate individuals. Nomination packets should include:

  1. a cover letter from the nominator;
  2. a full curriculum vitae/resume for the nominee;
  3. and two signed letters of recommendation.

Past nominations will be carried over and considered for two additional years and can be modified during this period if revisions are submitted by the deadline.

Nominations must be received by 10 April 2023 as a single PDF file via email the Committee Chair, Kirsty Taylor at, and to

STC members are eligible regardless of other STC honors or awards received. Current members of the STC Board of Directors and the review committee are not eligible to be nominated for this award. The award will be typically given once per year to a single individual and an individual can only receive this award once. Past nominations will be carried over to the next year for consideration and can be modified during this period, if received before the appropriate deadline.

The award will be presented at the Honors Reception at the STC Summit each year.

Leave a Reply