Slate of Candidates for 2024 STC Election

The 2023-2024 STC Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the 2024 STC election.

Earlier this year, Society President Tim Esposito and Executive Director Tim Shaw announced changes to the STC Bylaws designed to increase the capacity for member representation in the governance of the Society over time. These include updated eligibility requirements for members of the Board of Directors; changes in how the officers are elected from among the Board members by the Directors themselves; gradually expanding the Board from nine Directors today to 15 Directors in the future; and updating the duties, qualifications, terms, and term limits of Directors and officers.

This year, the Nominating Committee considered many potential candidates for the elected roles of Director and Nominating Committee member. The Committee vetted interested individuals through an extensive process that required potential candidates to complete an application, participate in an in-person interview, and provide references to speak to their character and experience. Through this process, the Committee evaluated the qualifications of the applicants for each role, and recommended qualified applicants for the election slate, which was approved by the current Board of Directors.

Given the number of qualified candidates for Director, the Committee also recommended that the Board accelerate its expansion from nine Directors to 11 Directors, effective with the 2024 election. This means that there will be six candidates for six openings on the Board, as well as two candidates for two openings on the Nominating Committee. While the elections for both roles will be uncontested, we believe STC ultimately will benefit from being able to involve more members in the governance of the Society more quickly.

Congratulations to the candidates, and thanks to all the STC members who responded to the Nominating Committee and considered potentially running for office this year.

Director (six candidates for six openings; two-year term) *

  • Dr. Wendy A. Ross
  • Dr. Jackie Damrau
  • Dr. Guiseppe Getto
  • MaryKay (MK) Grueneberg
  • Dr. Amanda Patterson
  • Danielle Villegas

Nominating Committee (two candidates for two openings; two-year term)

  • Joana Donovan
  • Kelly Smith

The 2024 election slate was prepared in accordance with the current Society bylaws.

The 2024 STC election is scheduled to open on Monday, 15 April, and close on Friday, 26 April. To be eligible to vote, members must have paid their dues by 31 January of the election year. All eligible members will receive the ballot and invitation to vote via email.


* NOTE: STC Vice President Elizabeth Herman will automatically succeed to the office of President; STC President Timothy Esposito will automatically succeed to the office of Immediate Past President; and STC Treasurer Roberta (Bobbi) Werner will continue in that office – each for a one-year term. The offices of Vice President and Secretary will be elected for a one-year term by the 2024-2025 Board of Directors from among their members, once they are installed.

Leave a Reply