The President’s Award honors those who have made distinguished contributions to the profession of technical communication or the Society. The President’s Award is awarded solely at the discretion of the President.

The STC President announces the names of the recipients during the opening session of the Society’s annual conference, the STC Summit.

2016 Honorees

Craig Baehr


Citation: For the generous commitment of your time and subject-matter expertise in the development of the Certified Professional Technical Communicator program, your ongoing role as Chief Examiner, and your service as Chair of the TC Body of Knowledge.

Alan Houser


Citation: For your ongoing and far-reaching work with STC locally, nationally, and internationally as Summit Conference Chair, President of the Board of Directors, Chair of the Nominating Committee, and for your countless interactions with members and community leaders providing wisdom, insight, and service. 

For the award’s past winners, click here.