

Society for Technical Communication
Board of Directors Meeting Summary
Hyatt Columbus, Fairfield Room
24 June May 2015 1:00-4:30 PM EDT

Attendees

Board

- Bernard Aschwanden, President
- Adriane Hunt, Vice President
- Alyssa Fox, Secretary
- Jane Wilson, Treasurer
- Kit Brown-Hoekstra, Immediate Past President
- Ray Gallon, Director
- Charles Fisher, Director
- · Craig Baehr, Director
- · Cindy Pao, Director

Office

Chris Lyons, CEO

Guests

• Alan Houser, Nominating Committee Chair

Mr. Aschwanden called the meeting to order at 1:06 PM EDT.

A quorum was established. The agenda was approved.

Agenda Items

- 2:00-3:10 PM {Public portion of meeting}
 - 2:00-2:15 PM Welcome and introductions (Bernard Aschwanden)
 - 2:15-2:30 PM Parliamentary procedure (Alyssa Fox)
 - 2:30-2:35 PM Consent agenda
 - 2:35-2:45 PM Approval of committee chairs (Bernard Aschwanden)
 - o 2:45-3:00 PM Vote on committee charters
 - o 3:00-3:10 PM TC Body of Knowledge report (Craig Baehr)
- 3:10-3:30 PM Break
- 3:30-3:45 PM Nominating Committee report (Alan Houser)
- 3:45-4:00 PM Board meetings for 2015-16 (Bernard Aschwanden)
- 4:00-4:15 PM Issues ahead (Chris Lyons)
- 4:15-5:00 PM Community model
- 5:00-5:30 PM Wrap-up and adjournment

Welcome and Introductions

Mr. Aschwanden asked the meeting attendees to introduce themselves.

Parliamentary Procedure

Ms. Fox reviewed the parliamentary procedures and meeting etiquette.

Consent Agenda

Board handbook changes

The board handbook changes item was moved to the regular agenda.

It was decided we would postpone the vote on board handbook changes to give everyone the opportunity to read them.

Approval of Committee Chairs and Charters

The following names were submitted for approval for committee chairs:

- Intercomm Editorial committee Liz Herman
- Audit committee Kit Brown-Hoekstra
- Finance and Investment committee Jane Wilson
- Body of Knowledge committee Craig Baehr
- Education Advisory Panel Alisa Bonsignore
- Community Affairs committee Cindy Pao
- Sigma Tau Chi/Alpha Sigma committee Russ Hirst

- Community Achievement and Pacesetter Award committee Mary Kay Grueneberg
- Distinguished Community Service Award committee Adam Evans
- Associate Fellows committee Brian Lindgren
- Fellows committee Larry Kunz
- Honorary Fellow committee (same as Summit chair) Todd DeLuca
- Jay R. Gould committee Kirk St. Amant
- Ken Rainey committee Ann Blakeslee

A motion was made that the board accept these chairs as presented. The motion was seconded. The motion carried.

TCBOK Report

Mr. Baehr reported on the current status of the TCBOK. The main thing the TCBOK committee has done this year is to migrate the TCBOK site to the WordPress platform. The site is now restricted to only the TCBOK team and editorial staff and they created a form-based content submission system.

Strategic decisions for the TCBOK include integrating more content from publications into the TCBOK. The process is currently as follows: members submit content, they get an automated email, the TCBOK committee reviews the content, then the committee gets back to submitter. Joel Kline is also working on social media integration. We'd like to look at the nine areas called out for the certification effort and ensure we have areas that match those in the TCBOK.

Scholarships Task Force Discussion

A motion was made that a task force be created to determine feasibility for awarding scholarships and to provide recommendations for centrally managing scholarships related to special interests. The motion was seconded. The motion carried.

TCBOK Task Force Discussion

A motion was made that a task force be created to develop a process and guidelines for SIGs to contribute content to the TCBOK. The motion was seconded. The motion carried.

The board will vote to approve the chairs for these task forces when selected. Additionally, these task forces will need charters.

Mr. Alan Houser joined the meeting at 2:34 PM EDT.

Nominating Committee Discussion

Mr. Houser and the board discussed the candidate criteria, process, and ideas for the 2016 election.

Mr. Houser has been encouraged by the response of people interested in running for the board here at the summit. Mr. Houser noted that he's looking for candidates that would be good team players that can serve with other team members in making difficult decisions.

The board recessed at 3:18 PM.

The meeting resumed at 3:30 PM.

Board Meetings 2015-16

The board discussed frequency and duration of board meetings for the 2015-16 year.

Mr. Aschwanden will send out a suggested meeting schedule for the year.

Issues Ahead Discussion

Mr. Aschwanden started a discussion about what we need to look at ahead. We are a strategic board and we need to see where we're going in the next year, two years, five years, etc. We do have financial constraints. We're also looking at TCBOK and certification, etc.

The board discussed the value proposition for STC and how to draw more members.

Community Models Discussion

The board had a brief discussion about the current community model for regional and student chapters.

Mr. Lyons noted that from Lisa Meloncon's research, there are 574 programs in the country that teach technical communication or some form of it, yet we have only 15 student chapters. Mr. Baehr suggested we possibly include academic programs in the CVP.

The board discussed the need to use the CAC more. The board should give the CAC the what and why, and let the CAC figure out the how.

Adjournment

Mr. Aschwanden adjourned the meeting at 5:19 PM EDT.