2024 STC Scholarship Awarded to Liping Yang

The STC Scholarship Committee is excited to congratulate the winner of the 2024 STC Scholarship. Liping Yang has been awarded a $500 scholarship for the 2024-2025 school year. Liping has also been invited to volunteer at Summit in Minneapolis, MN in May.

Liping Yang is a PhD candidate in Rhetoric and Composition from Georgia State University. The committee unanimously agreed that her research on the ethical application and literacy of AI will be a valuable contribution to the field. She has also published three peer-reviewed articles in areas such as content management, information architecture, UX and UI design, digital portfolios, and web design.

Notably, Liping’s original research presentation on digital micro tutorials was well-attended and applauded at STC Summit in 2023, indicating the relevance and integration of her academic and practitioner pursuits. Her professors and mentors say “Liping ranks among the top of the hundreds of graduate students I’ve had in my thirty-plus years of teaching career. She’s the kind of promising talent that will bring distinction to any community she’s part of.” Anyone interested in her work will find more of it in an upcoming publication of an ATTW book series. For her, STC has been a cornerstone in her professional development, and it is our pleasure to support her goals of entering the academy and to work as an industry consultant in technical communication through the STC Scholarship.

To qualify for an STC scholarship, applicants must be STC student members and have completed at least one year of post-secondary education. They must be working toward a degree or a graduate certificate in communication of information about technical subjects. Additionally, they must have at least one full year of academic work remaining. If they meet all of these requirements, then applicants submit applications, letters of recommendation, transcripts, and essays that show their goals and achievements, their experience in technical communication, as well as an understanding of technical communication trends.

Applications were evaluated by the Scholarship Committee whose members had a tough choice to make as there were many good candidates. The committee’s purpose is to assist students who are pursuing an accredited degree or graduate certificate program in some aspect of technical communication. They recommend to the Board policies and procedures for awarding Society-level scholarships and grants, provide oversight and recommendations for geographic community scholarships and grants, review applications for scholarships and grants, and recommend recipients to the Board.

The committee consists of a variety of STC members at varying points in their careers and is chaired by Kylie Jacobsen. Special thanks to Akshata Balghare, Guiseppe Getto, Marcia Shannon, and Erica Stone for their service to this committee.

Leave a Reply