International Summit Awards




STC offers competitions to evaluate professional technical communication.

Each year, the Society for Technical Communication sponsors international competitions through which technical communicators have the opportunity to receive recognition for their work. STC chapters hold preliminary competitions from which Excellence and Distinguished Award winners advance to the international level. Each entry is judged against criteria that measure the degree of technical content, achievement of purpose, and technical execution whether online or in printed deliverable.

Competitions are open to technical communication professionals. You do not have to be a member of STC to participate. Review the STC ISA General Information and Rules.

Competitions have two tiers:

  • Chapter or regional (community)
  • International (Society-wide)

Entries are submitted in the following four categories:

  • Informational Materials
  • Instructional Materials
  • Promotional Materials
  • User Support Materials

An entry must win an Award of Excellence or Distinguished Technical Communication at the chapter/regional level to qualify for submission to STC's International Summit Awards (ISA) competition. Many chapters hold professional competitions in the fall to conclude before the deadline to enter the ISA.

All Entrants: Submit Content to a Local Community

Before you can enter the International (Society-wide) competition, your content needs to be entered in a community competition. Your first step is to visit one of the following communities' websites and enter their competition.

Please note that you can enter in any competition, at any community. You do not need to be a member, or even in the same geographic location!

List of community competitions will be updated soon. 


Competition Managers: Submit Community Award Winners

After content has been entered and judged by a local community, the top entries are eligible to compete at the International level.

2014 and 2015 International Summit Award Best of Show and Distinguished winners: 2014 and 2105 Distinguished and Best of Show awards

For more information, contact:

Kit Brown-Hoekstra, ISA Committee Chair


For information specific to submitting electronic entries, see STC ISA General Information and Rules

Each hard copy submission must include:

  • Three copies of each entry
  • Completed online entry submission form for each entry (with a printed copy of the completed entry submission form attached to each of the four copies)
  • Payment: Check(s) made payable to STC or online credit card payment. Nonrefundable fee per entry in US dollars only. Checks must be maile to the STC office:
    • $90 members
    • $140 nonmembers
  • Send hardcopy entries to: TBD
  • When paying entry fees by check, please mail a printed copy of the online entry submission form with the check to:

    Chris Lyons
    Society for Technical Communication
    9401 Lee Highway, Suite 300
    Fairfax, Virginia 22031


The following documents and forms are resources for competition managers, submitters, and judges.


Competition managers may customize these forms in Microsoft Word for chapter/regional use.

Award Winner Emblems

Winners of the STC International Summit Awards and chapter/regional-level awards of STC-sponsored competitions may freely duplicate the STC award emblems in resumes and company publications and on websites or copies of the winning publication.

For chapter/regional-level awards, winners may add the name of the chapter/region or competition as shown in the popup example.

We suggest including a tag line (or similar text) with the emblem, based on the following example:
 [Award Type] Winner of STC's International Summit Awards Competition, 2014

Best of Show Winner

For EPS format, please email to request the image file.

High Resolution Images (TIF format) 

Low Resolution Images (PNG format)

Volunteering to Judge

ISA Judges. STC and the International Summit Awards committee recognize these judges and other volunteers for their contributions to the STC International Summit Awards. 

To be considered to judge in the ISA, you do not have to be a member of STC. However, judges must meet at least two of the following qualifications:  

  • STC Senior Member
  • 5+ years of experience in technical communication or a related field
  • Teaching experience in technical communication or a related field
  • Master's degree or higher in technical communication or a related field
  • CPTC or other certification by a related professional association, such as Project Management Profession (PMP) or Certified Performance Technologist (CPT)
  • Previous winner of an STC or other communication competition award
  • 3+ years of experience in the competition category in which you would like to judge 

To submit an application to judge, complete the STC ISA Competition Judge Application (online form) . Applications must be received by 5 February 2016.  


Judging Exchange Service

Some chapters exchange entries with other chapters for judging. There are both advantages and challenges with this system. Weigh the factors as you decide whether to exchange entries. STC supports and encourages judging exchanges whenever they will improve the quality of judging or help avoid the appearance of conflict of interest.

If your chapter is interested in a judging exchange, we encourage you to contact chapters with which you currently have a relationship. If you need assistance with setting up an exchange, please email Elaine Gillaim ( at the STC office.