Description of Society Offices to be Filled

The following Society-level offices will be filled in STC’s 2021 election:

  • Vice President
  • Treasurer
  • Director (two positions to be filled)
  • Nominating Committee (two positions to be filled)

Vice President (three-year commitment)

The Vice President serves as both a Director and an Officer of the Board. The Vice President’s duties include supporting the strategic objectives of the Society, as well as any other responsibilities assigned by the President. These responsibilities may vary from year to year. The STC Bylaws specify that the Vice President automatically progresses to President, and then to Immediate Past President. Each of these offices has a one-year term, so the person who becomes Vice President is committing to a total of three years of service.

Candidates for Vice President must be passionate about and experienced in our industry; have in-depth knowledge of Society-level processes and practices; and be experienced in implementing large business, policy, or educational initiatives outside of STC. They must have extensive leadership experience, preferably in prior positions at the Society level, community level or in other organizations; should be aware of STC’s accomplishments and opportunities; and should have good ideas about future actions needed in response to trends in the profession and the needs of our members.

Treasurer (two-year term)

The Treasurer serves as both a Director and an Officer of the Board. The Treasurer may run for a second consecutive term of office. The duties of this position include familiarity with managing a budget, attending monthly financial calls or meetings, preparing financial documents for monthly deadlines in advance of each meeting or conference call, and interpreting the trends in the financial data for the rest of the board members.

Candidates for Treasurer should have some business experience, familiarity with managing a budget, a sense about the financial impact of initiatives, expectation of inevitable expenses, and comfort with spreadsheets. A good candidate is willing to advocate for fiscal responsibility and champion a different viewpoint from the rest of the Board of Directors. The candidate must be willing to engage in and maintain the debate over the prudent use of funds. In addition, the candidate must have sufficient time to devote to the position. Experience in one of the following areas is also helpful: accounting, law, business ownership or treasurer for another organization.

Director (two-year term)

Every Director represents all members of the Society and serves as a communication link between the Board and members, communities, and any programs for which the Director has been assigned. Directors are voting members of the Board.

Each candidate for Director should have a history of successful leadership in STC or with another organization. Leadership can be in various areas of the Society, such as local or Society-level communities and committees. Valuable assets for this position are proven leadership skills, proven strategic thinking, knowledge of STC, ability to speak effectively in public, trouble-shooting skills, and tactfulness. Experience in one of the following areas is also helpful: governance, finance, or community advocacy.

Nominating Committee Member (two-year term)

The Nominating Committee has four elected members, with two members elected each year to serve a two-year term. The Nominating Committee holds an organizational meeting at the annual conference and meets by conference call regularly to carry on the committee’s business and to develop a slate of candidates for each election.

Candidates for the Nominating Committee should have an extensive network of STC members across the Society, be good judges of character and leadership potential, and have a solid understanding of how the Board works to lead Society strategy.

Prospective Board Members: What You Need to Know

Meetings. All positions (except for the two Nominating Committee members) serve on the STC Board of Directors. Board members are required to attend all Board meetings unless excused by the President for an emergency situation or illness.

  • In-person meetings: The Board meets in person once a year during the annual conference, and usually at one other time during the Board year.
  • Monthly meetings: The Board also holds monthly meetings by conference call.

Executive Committee. The President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and Immediate Past President serve as the Board’s officers, constituting the Executive Committee. When the Board is not in session, and a situation arises in which the full Board cannot be present, the Committee acts for the Board. All officers must be easily accessible and knowledgeable about the broad spectrum of the Society’s business.

Employer support. All candidates need reasonable freedom of action at their jobs so, if necessary, they can handle Society business at the workplace. Candidates should expect to spend a minimum of 10-12 hours per month on STC business (more for President, Secretary, and Treasurer), yet much of it can be done from home. They also may need employer support or personal funds to cover some of their administrative and travel expenses.

Membership requirements. The STC Board of Directors depends on experienced business, academic, and Society leaders. All candidates must be regular members with one full year of Society membership at time of consideration for candicacy, have experience working at a strategic level; be comfortable making decisions collaboratively, and be focused on outcomes. They should have Society-level leadership experience, as well as professional skills in managing people, projects, and budgets. Being an STC Board member is a chance to leverage these skills, to learn how to lead a nonprofit organization, and to ensure that the Society continues providing members with a high level of opportunities and services.

Travel and expense reimbursements. Board members and Nominating Committee members may receive a reimbursement to help with some of the expenses associated with attending face-to-face meetings. In most cases the reimbursement amount does not cover all travel and associated expenses. The Board establishes the amount each year during the budget review process. In past years, extra allowance was given to Board members and Nominating Committee members based outside of North America.

In addition, you should be aware that STC is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, educational, and charitable organization. Therefore, for residents of the United States, the portion of your expenses not reimbursed (other than personal services) that is more than the value of the benefit you receive may be deducted as a charitable contribution on your federal income tax return. Your personal financial advisor or tax preparer can provide details.

Additional resources. If you have questions about Board or Nominating Committee service, current and past members are willing to share their experiences. You may contact members of the current Board for more information by looking them up on the STC website at https://www.stc.org/about-stc/board-of-directors/.

Questions. For additional questions about the election process, or if you’d like to nominate yourself or another member, please contact Nominating Committee Chair Ben Woelk at benwoelkstc@gmail.com before Monday, 31 August 2020.