Ken Rainey Award for Distinguished Research

The Ken Rainey Award for Distinguished Research honors the distinguished research contributions of Dr. Rainey.

Ken Rainey was a professor at Southern Polytechnic State University (now Kennesaw State University) and STC Fellow who produced major research studies that continue to provide ongoing benefit to both practice and teaching in the field of technical communication.

The Ken Rainey Award honors research that has made positive, significant contributions to technical communication practice and teaching. It rewards a lifetime of quality research in the field, a single high-quality empirical study, or a set of related high-quality studies.

Honorees notified: After vote by STC Board of Directors, usually February

Award Presented: At the Honors Reception at the STC Technical Communication Summit 

Nomination Process

Consult the guidelines for the complete nomination process.


Who is eligible: STC Members who have belonged to the Society for a minimum of one year.

Who may recommend: Anyone may nominate an STC member. You can also nominate yourself.

Due date for recommendations:   28 November 2022

Due date for applications from recommended candidates: 9 January 2023


Recommendations and nominations should be sent via email to:


Lisa Melonçon, University of South Florida

Citation: For a lifetime of contributions across different fields within technical communication, including milestone accomplishments across the rhetoric of health and medicine, research methods, pedagogy, and user experience as “the premier scholar of TPC programs in the United States.”

  • 2022: Lisa Melonçon, PhD
  • 2021: David Farkas, PhD
  • 2020: Not awarded
  • 2019:  Miles Kimball, PhD
  • 2018: Stuart Selber, PhD
  • 2017: Tharon Howard, PhD
  • 2016: Charles Kostelnick, PhD
  • 2015: Kirk St. Amant, PhD
  • 2014: Saul Carliner, PhD
  • 2013: Michael J. Albers, PhD
  • 2012: Ann Blakeslee, PhD
  • 2012: Menno de Jong, PhD
  • 2011: Stephanie Rosenbaum, MA
  • 2010: Judith Ramey, PhD
  • 2009: Carol M. Barnum, PhD
  • 2008: Janice C. (Ginny) Redish, PhD
  • 2007: Karen A. Schriver, PhD
  • 2007: Jan H. Spyridakis, PhD